An Alaskan Landscape

By Amy Reed, An Alaska Master Gardener in Anchorage, AK
Amy Reed Blog # 1 photo-1
Footprints outside the window.

This is my first time writing a  blog, and I am excited to share my adventure with my new flowerbeds! My husband, daughter, and I moved to  Anchorage from Eagle River this past winter. Because our new yard was covered  in snow, I had no idea what I was in for come spring! The new house abuts the Chugach State Park, so from the grizzly bear prints in the snow, I knew I would be sharing the yard with nature.

When the snow (FINALLY) thawed this past spring/summer, we were surprised to find how many perennial flower beds the previous owners had planted. My in-laws were visiting at the time, and I put them to work helping me unearth the beds from the mounds of leaves, dead branches, and clippings. It was a daunting task, and it took almost three solid weeks to clean out all the beds around the house. I kept hearing shouts of, “Come check this out! There is a  path here!” and “What is this plant?” My
favorite phrase, however, was “Do you think this tree is alive?” My husband had the time of his life cutting down trees with his new chainsaw and chopping them into firewood. After renting a chipper, we were left with a mulch pile about seven feet high by eight feet  across. It was incredible! I felt like I was being so “green” to spread  the paths near the house leading up to the State Park with the mulch. Little did I know that all it did was provide our friendly neighborhood bear with easier access to our yard!