Savage Gardening: Keeping Carnivorous Plants Alive

Almost every time I go to Lowe’s I see Venus fly traps or pitcher plants for sale. Last week a colleague asked about mine–mainly how do I keep them alive? His son had convinced him to let him bring one home. Within weeks, the leaves were turning black, and no new leaves were forming. Unfortunately, other symptoms, such as rotting leaves, didn’t match those of a plant going into dormancy.

I have been raising carnivorous plants for a few years now so after trial, error, and lots of research, I have found that the mistakes I made with my first fly trap (R.I.P. Chompy) are common with lots of people who buy these unique plants. I currently grow fly traps, pitcher plants, sundews, and a butterwort under a 4 ft. long T5 light. I have found that the right water, soil, and lighting has made my savage garden successful.

Water

Ninety-five percent of the time, tap water will kill! I collect rain water or purchase distilled. The chemicals that are used to treat water can build up in the soil, harming the plant. Speaking of soil, one of the first things I learned in my research is that these plants do not grow in average house plant potting soil.

Soil

I have had success with 50/50 perlite and Sphagnum peat moss and–when I can get my hands on it–live sphagnum. These plants adapted to eat bugs to counter the lack of nutrients found in soils, so while this mix lacks the nutrients found in the potting soil, it is perfect for a savage garden to thrive in.

Light

In the summer I leave my plants outside whenever the low temperatures are above 55 degrees F to let them eat bugs and sun bathe. In the winter, some go into dormancy and others reside under a grow light. The long days here in the summer may cause a carnivorous plant to flower. I recommend cutting the flower off as soon as you see it. The plant puts all its energy into the flower and the remaining plant gets very little.

Plant image 1