Bubbles Escaping The Bottom: The Deep Water Culture Hydroponics Story

Hydroponic gardening is what first interested me in gardening: the idea that one can take the essential ingredients for plant life, and apply them directly to that plant.  A plant needs three basic things to survive: light, water, and nutrients. When using hydroponics you are feeding that plant directly through its roots without soil. There are many types of hydroponics such as Deep Water, Ebb and Flow, and Aeroponics — each one has advantages, and disadvantages of its own, but it comes down to personal preference when choosing a setup.

I have been practicing Deep Water Hydroponics for about two years and would recommend this as a way to keep a garden year round. Since you are supplying the plant with what it needs artificially, you are not hindered by time of year and the appearance of the sun. The setup is also quite simple, but does require regular maintenance.

The Setup