Viburnum Edule, A “Berry” Nice Garden Shrub

Highbush Cranberries

“Highbush Cranberries” is a publication from the University of Alaska Fairbanks Cooperative Extension Service (CES), to which I have been referring on an annual basis for a couple of decades. The current version, revised in 2013, by Roxie Rodgers Dinstel (Extension Faculty) and Marci Johnson (Extension Program Assistant) is sitting in front of me as I blog. I have temporarily misplaced the berry-stained original that my mother handed down to me, but it will resurface, most likely stuck to another spot-on CES publication.

The Stench

Highbush cranberry is the common name for Viburnum edule, and is not actually a cranberry at all.

As kids, we would use dried cow parsnip (pushki) stalks to shoot the ripe berries at one another. This was a favorite pastime while waiting for the school bus on crisp, fall mornings. Oh, how that musky, sour smell permeated our new clothing!

Our mother would always make a batch of Spiced Highbush Cranberry Ketchup, following the recipe in the CES publication. She would painstakingly cook down the dreaded concoction to the proper consistency, which took hours. By the time it was finished, the entire house and everything in it was saturated with the stench of highbush cranberries.

Childhood memories of highbush cranberries were not exactly my fondest. Had I read about the extraordinary health benefits in the CES pub earlier in life, perhaps my opinion would’ve been different. Okay, doubtful.

The Aroma

Time passed and I noticed one sunny winter day that the highbush cranberries were still on the bushes, hanging on for dear life. How beautiful they looked against the pristine white snow. I snapped off a dried pushki stalk and tried the old “peashooter” but my technique was seriously rusty and I gave up with squashed berries all over me. Hmmm, the smell wasn’t that bad.