If gardening brings me a bushel of peace–I’ll take it!

An unknown author reportedly said, “Gardening is cheaper than therapy and you get tomatoes.” I appreciate this because I am a psychologist, however, it is truly my goal to be a good gardener. I gardened with my father and mother when I was a child growing up in Colorado. We had a very large rose garden and I learned how to prune them and prepare the plants for the Colorado  winter. My father taught me the basics of gardening vegetables. As a side note, my father just turned 84 years old and was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease a few years ago. He is my hero, for so many reasons, and I still ask him gardening questions. I was married very young and we moved briefly to my ex-husband’s home state of Kansas where we had an acre garden, a half-acre for fruit trees, chickens, pigs and geese.   The geese turned out not to be so much fun and so we named them Thanksgiving and Christmas, if you know what I mean. We lived in a very small town with 9 houses, 3 churches, and a co-op. One summer, Kansas experienced such a heat wave that all of the gardens in town burnt up but ours. We would wait until the darkness of night and the onset of temperatures under 100 degrees, as it was running about 115 during the day, and then we would turn on the water and water until before the sun came up. We had a wonderful garden that year, but could not harvest it as fast as it was producing. We told our neighbors to help themselves to whatever they wanted as it was just too much for us and I was not good at canning. I had made crabapple jelly with my grandmother since I was young, but that was the extent of my canning experience. Nearly every day we would come home to a case of canned green beans, tomatoes, pickled watermelon rinds, and the like, on our Victorian front porch as our neighbors harvested the bounties of our garden and then shared what they had put up. We had a winter’s full of vegetables in our pantry, and I did not have t